Unleash the Finest Ways to Delete Reconciliation in QuickBooks Online

A remarkable blend of functionality with highly advanced features is what makes QuickBooks one of the highly preferred accounting software all across the globe. QuickBooks basically makes the entire accounting process easy and manageable, one of which is to undo or delete reconciliation. QuickBooks is used by people worldwide and not everyone is well aware of the ways to undo or delete reconciliation in QuickBooks. Thus, in order to help QuickBooks users, we have come up with this blog that deals with some of the most relevant ways to undo or delete reconciliation in QuickBooks online.

This blog is for the ones who face difficulty in deleting reconciliation in QuickBooks online. You can also reach out to the QuickBooks online support team at +1-866-707-7925 in order to get instant support.

What is the need to delete reconciliation?

Before heading towards the ways to undo reconciliation in QuickBooks Online, it would be better to explore the reasons behind deleting the reconciliation. Well, it is sometimes obligatory to undo reconciliation, especially when the QuickBooks balance sheet doesn’t match the bank statement following a monthly reconciliation. Other possible reasons to undo reconciliation might include the following:

  • Recording the payment for an incorrect date
  • For un-cleared transactions
  • In case of an incorrect bank reconciliation
  • Also when the bank statement date is inappropriate.

Process of deleting reconciliation

Well, it should be noted that the process of deleting reconciliation may vary in QuickBooks desktop version and QuickBooks online. QuickBooks online reconciles transactions individually, and therefore one must un-reconcile them one at a time. Also, before a user can undo an entire QuickBooks online reconciliation, he/she is supposed to edit every transaction manually. Once you are done with the editing part, you can proceed by following certain steps. We have discussed below the steps that one needs to follow, in order to undo reconciliation. Let us have a look at those steps one by one.

Step 1: The very first step is to click on the “Gear Icon”.

Step 2: Under the “Tools” column, tap “Reconcile”.

Step 3: From the “Reconcile an Account Page”, select and click on “History by Account”option.

Step 4: Then on “History by Account Page”, click on the “Account” and “Report period” to locate the reconciliation to undo.

Step 5: Click on the “Action Column” and select the “Undo” option from the drop-down list that appears on the screen.

Step 6: The following pop up message will appear on your screen:

QuickBooks reconcile process - Screenshot

Step 7: Click on “OK”.

Step 8: Once you will click on “OK”, a “Success” pop up will appear.

Reconcile success - Screenshot

Step 9: Tap “OK” and you are done with deleting the reconciliation.

Undo a reconciliation and transactions in QuickBooks Online:

Below we will discuss some simple actions to undo a reconciliation and transactions are resolved one at a time.

  • QuickBooks Online integrates transactions separately, so you require to resolve them one by one.
  • To start, select “Registers” from the Banking menu.
  • Afterwards choose the account from the Register name drop-down menu.
  • Click on the purchase you intend to unreconciled, and after that choose delete the “R” on top of the transaction to change its rank to unreconciled.

Following the above-enumerated steps will surely help in successfully deleting the reconciliation in QuickBooks online. In case you face any difficulty, or even after following the steps you are unable to undo the reconciliation in QuickBooks Online, then it would be recommended to get in touch with the QuickBooks enterprise support team at +1-866-707-7925 and get the issue resolved. 

Few Frequently asked questions about QuickBooks Reconciliation

Query: How to undo reconciliation in QuickBooks online 2018?

Answer: You need to follow the below given steps to undo the reconciliation in QuickBooks online 2018:

  • Open your QuickBooks and Go to ‘Banking‘ option from the left menu.
  • After that select the ‘Banking‘ and ‘Account’ option from the top side.
  • Now Go to ‘Register/Account‘ History, over the ‘Action‘ column.
  • Search for the ‘Transactions‘ that require to be unreconciled
  • Highlight the transaction by hitting a single tab on it.
  • After that click on ‘R‘ key on the top line of the transaction, that is between the Quantity and also Down Payment Or Fee and also Payment amount.
  • In the reconcile status column side, you need to select the top line consistently to change the following status:
    • C – Cleared
    • R – Reconcile and
    • Blank – Not cleared or reconciled
  • You need to click on ‘Save‘ to set the settings.
  • Now you’ll see a pop-up that will display this image. How do you reverse a reconciliation in QuickBooks?
Undo Reconciliation - Screenshot
  • Finally hit a click on ‘Yes‘.

Query: What is the need of QuickBooks reconciliation?

Answer: QuickBooks reconcile ensures that the starting balance as well as deal noted in your QuickBooks matches your monthly financial institution balance or not.

Query: How usually should user reconcile their accounts?

Answer: The QuickBooks Users needs to integrate their accounts in on a monthly basis, or at the end of your bank reporting period.

Query: How to recuperate/recover deleted transactions?

Answer: There is not a particular method to recover deleted transactions. But it can be done by following the actions-.

  • You need to click on ‘Reports‘ and then choose ‘Accounts’ as well as ‘Taxes‘.
  • After that click on ‘Delete transactions‘.
  • Now enter the date to delete reconciliation and re-enter the transaction.
  • Your sales as well as purchase order transactions cannot be recovered.

Query: Does Users Manually deleting reconciliation?

Answer: Reconciliation can be done manually if you need to modify fewer transactions but if you have a lot of transactions comply with the methods in the short article.

Query: Why don’t I have a Resolve undo option on my QuickBooks?

Answer: The undo option is available if you’re utilizing the QuickBooks Online Accountant version. If you’re using the normal one, you’ll need to manually reconcile each transaction.

Follow the steps:

  • Firstly click on ‘Accounting‘, after that go to ‘Chart of Accounts‘.
  • After that hit a click on the ‘Bank account‘.
  • Now click ‘View register‘.
  • Search for the ‘Transaction‘ option.
  • In the reconcile status column side, you need to select the top line consistently to change the following status:
    • C – Cleared
    • R – Reconcile and
    • Blank – Not cleared or reconciled

Query: What does the reconciliation of accounts indicate?

Answer: Essentially in accounts reconciliation means to compare your bank accounts with your QuickBooks accounts to know whether the money leaving is equal to the cash invested.